Ode to the Dishwasher

21 Oct

Sleek, smooth, compact, and efficient.  If I could hug my dishwasher I would.  Growing up there was no dishwasher in the house.  My brother, sister and I were the dishwashers.  I can remember when I was “old enough” to share in this monumental task.  My older brother Terrance naturally took the lead in washing the dishes.  My sister Melanie had the job of rinsing all the dishes.  Then there was me.  I was the baby so I got the job at the end.  I had the duty of drying and putting away the dishes.   I was significantly shorter so I was fortunate to have a chair to stand on so I could place the dishes in the proper cabinets.  Can you picture it?  All three of us standing in the kitchen working hard toward a common goal.  That goal was not to feel the wrath of my father if we didn’t finish our chores.   Eventually, as we grew, the roles changed and as the last child left at home, the dishes became a full-time occupation.  Dishwater is hard on the hands; my nails and cuticles suffer greatly.

When I moved into my first apartment, there was a standard dishwasher in the kitchen.  Nothing fancy and quite frankly it was pretty outdated.  I think I used it once and decided it wasn’t for me.  I had to re-wash most of the dishes!  There was no time savings to be found with that thing.  I swore off dishwashers after that.  Yes, I know that’s harsh – because not all dishwashers are created equal.  How close minded of me : – ).

Earlier this year our landlord purchased a new dishwasher for our townhouse.  And let me say this … Ahhhhhhhhhh!  I actually sang that as I typed.  This beautiful GE1machine has added such value to my life.  The inside is so full you could fit a small child in there.  Of course I would NEVER do that – that is abuse people!  But it’s pretty big and I’ve made it my mission to see just how many dishes I can fit inside.  It still amazes me how the two of us can use so many dishes in one week.  But I guess the husband/man and I really like to open cabinet doors and reach for new, fresh, clean dishes.

Anyhoo, where would I be without my dishwasher?  Still standing there breaking my back over the kitchen sink and spending far too much money at the nail tech trying to restore my cuticles.  Who knew a machine could add such value to my quality of life.  Thank you landlord and thank you GE!  You simply ROCK!

3 Responses to “Ode to the Dishwasher”

  1. Husband/Man October 21, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    That’s funny, my parents had three dishwashers too. Kyle, Rahsaan and Sakiem. There wasn’t any sharing responsibilities either. It was either your turn or it wasnt.

  2. mylifeasnickijay October 21, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    Ahh husband/man, I knew were were kindred spirits!

    • Husband/Man October 21, 2010 at 3:07 pm #

      The difference being, we actually had a dishwasher in the house, we just weren’t allowed to use it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

